Leadership Starts with Learning

This monument is located at an intersection near my home.  It marks one of the entrance streets that lead you into Southern Methodist University (SMU).

My family and I just moved to Dallas from Cincinnati last month, so everything is new to us.  I find myself noticing everything; probably looking for anything that might seem familiar or remind me of “home.”  Interestingly, a few things about SMU bring me comfort, even though I did not attend there, nor did I visit the university prior to moving here.

The academic buildings on SMU’s campus are a traditional red brick with white trim.  A few of these buildings are topped with a copper turret, which add to the beauty of the architecture.  The design also reminds me of Miami University in Oxford, Ohio, where I graduated from college.  Miami is known for its architectural beauty and clean, distinctive look.  I was thrilled to learn from a student that SMU is sometimes referred to as “the Miami University of the South.”  This makes me smile and cherish our close proximity to campus.

On my way home the other day, I drove past the monument with the leadership quote.  I took my eyes off the road for a few too many seconds as I did a triple take to make sure I read it correctly.

“Leadership Starts with Learning”

It’s funny that a sign can bring me joy, but it does.  I love leadership.  I love learning about it, growing in it, sharing with others about it and encouraging everyone to embrace it fully and authentically.

I have also frequently associated leadership with learning.  It’s a critical connection to make, especially in the fast-paced, high-tech world we live in today.  Things are changing quickly, and leaders need to be continually learning about new trends that can help them to be more effective and more efficient, as well as more engaged with people.

Sometimes, the start of learning is simply pushing yourself into the unknown; totally outside of your comfort zone.  In these situations, you have no choice but to learn!  When everything around you is new, it forces you to pay close attention to people and to your environment.  You become more acutely aware of the details, and you find yourself more frequently seeking to understand.

I lived in Cincinnati for about thirty years of my life.  I loved the city, celebrated it and was very comfortable there.  Now in Dallas, everything is new to me…and I am learning.

I am learning to be a better business owner, as I work to build some local business in addition to my ongoing national business.  I am learning to be a better mother, as I am supporting my children in their new school and activities and with all new friends.  I am learning to be a better wife, as I celebrate new opportunities for my husband and his career.  I am learning to be more cognizant of my values as I meet new people and establish friendships, knowing that I will want to grow closer to some women who will become true girlfriends.  I am learning to be more faithful, as I trust God and know that His plan for me is unfolding and has a purpose…and a happy ending!

…And I am becoming a better leader because of all of these things.  This experience is all about learning and growing, and I will have more to contribute to the world because of it.

When was the last time you pushed yourself outside of your comfort zone?  How did that impact you or the people around you?  How are you pressing yourself to learn, improve and grow every day?  I encourage you to make a change and to challenge yourself.  You’ll look back on the experience and be glad you did it!

Erin Schreyer is President of Sagestone Partners and is a Certified Coach, Trainer and Speaker.  Erin is passionate about building into people and bringing out their leadership qualities to help them excel in all areas of life.  

12 thoughts on “Leadership Starts with Learning

  1. Excellent post, Erin. Welcome Back!!

    A critical connection is often missed in the ‘Learning / Leadership’ equation. Many see learning ‘about’ leadership as necessary for better fulfilling the role of a ‘Leader’. Yes, this is a necessary component. What is often overlooked, however, is that in the end learning isn’t about the leader. Rather, it’s about those we serve. Great leaders are committed to a lifetime of learning not so they can be better leaders but so they can increase their capacity to serve. It’s a subtle distinction that becomes clearer as we clarify our objectives for the learning process. As I’m fond of saying… ‘water cannot be drawn from an empty well’. Learning fills the well so that others may drink.

    Best wishes in your new endeavors

    Mark

    • Mark,

      Thanks for your insightful comment. I’m SO with you!! Leadership and servanthood could be as tightly linked as leadership and learning. The more we can connect with people and understand them, the better we can serve them and their needs. Indeed, this is the essence of leadership!!

      Thanks so much for adding value to the conversation!

  2. Really like the post and looking forward to more! I believe many people forget that learning often takes place when we are pushed beyond our comfort zone, not just by reading a book . Big fan of the message you have posted, love the writting style and clarity, and looking forward to more posts. Thanks for the message!

    • Thanks so much for the comment and the encouragement!! We’ve all heard it said that “true learning” comes from doing. How we react in times of crisis, confusion and discomfort will help to build us as leaders! These “character-building” times may not be easy, but they do so much for us in the long-term….so much more than a great leadership book can do!! (Although…I DO love a great leadership book!!) 🙂

  3. Hi Erin:
    An excellent post and a very good insight.
    Along the same line, I always try to remember what my instructor in AFROTC way back when at Purdue taught us:
    First: the Mission
    Always: the Men (would be people today, no doubt)
    Last: Yourself

  4. Love the new look and the post, Erin. It’s a good reminder of something that is so important for leaders to remember – they bring every aspect of who they are to how they lead and engage with others and the willingness to stretch and grow in each of these areas (as you are!) only makes them better, even if the process is a bit daunting. Someone once told me, “discomfort is growth!” All the best. Rythee

    • Thanks, Rythee! I remember hearing Dr. Dobson speak once,and he said that our greatest times of growth happen in our greatest discomfort. Such a hard message, but it’s so true.

      Thanks for encouraging me and being supportive!

Leave a comment